Cake!

So, it’s been a week since I started this new venture, and I’m happy to say that I think that it has been successful both for me personally, and more widely. I’ve tried to post something at least every other day, and I think this is how I’ll operate in the future- unless, of course, something crazily interesting has happened, in which case I might do an extra post..!

So it’s been a week since I started this. 7 days. I could try and draw parallels between this week and the Creation, but although many things have changed over the course of the week I think that would be unwise! Today I want to share with you my go to recipe for cake. My Uncle and Aunt came to stay for the weekend, and so I baked a cake (and of course many of us needed comfort food after Brexit was announced).

I love to bake – I find it a good way to relax and calm down after a stressful week and also very rewarding. This recipe is one of my favourites, because it is so simple and I can remember it off the top of my head. It makes really good plain cakes but I also experiment with the recipe to add new flavours.

Ingredients for 12 cupcakes or a small loaf/round cake: 

  • 4oz Soft butter (I use Stork)
  • 4oz Caster Sugar
  • 4oz Self-raising flour
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp Baking Powder
  • 1 tsp Vanilla
  • Splash of milk

I tend to add all of this together in one bowl at the same time and just stir. It seems stiff at first, but if you keep stirring it gets better. If it is still stiff (I test this by seeing if it falls off the spoon easily or not) add a bit more milk. Then pop in the oven (200ºC) for around 20 minutes until golden on top and a knife comes out clean. If it is wobbling put it back in! You can also test to see if it’s done by poking it lightly with your finger. If it bounces back, it’s done. If the cake starts to brown on top but is not done, you can put tin foil over the top.

I love to add 1tbsp of cinnamon and mixed spice to add flavour to this recipe, but you can also add 1/2 oz of cocoa instead of 1/2 oz of flour to make chocolate cake. There are so many different variations – part of the fun is experimenting and finding out what works (and what doesn’t!). If you do half chocolate cake and half plain and swirl them in the tin, you can make marble cake!

This recipe is really easy to remember as the number of eggs is always half the number of ounces of flour, butter and sugar. It’s even better that it’s quick, all in one bowl (saves on the washing up), the cakes are still really fluffy and can provide a solid basis to any culinary cake creation!

For a decent sized round cake, I tend to use a 6 oz and 3 eggs mixture, and for a large traybake either a 8 oz, 4 eggs or 10 oz and 5 eggs. The larger quantities may take longer to cook.

Happy Baking! 😉

PS I love these Lakeland cake cases for larger cakes, stops me having to butter the inside of the tin (if you don’t have a case – butter the tin otherwise the mixture will stick!!).

Don’t forget to follow me on twitter (click the bird down at the bottom, or search me using the handle @christiangirlUK). I would love to see pictures of your baking creations…!

Leave a Reply

