#Believe

I walked into the co-op in London to buy my lunch, and a chocolate bar caught my eye. Don’t get me wrong, chocolate bars normally catch my eye in a shop – who doesn’t love a good bit of chocolate?! But this bar was different. I could tell instantly what type of chocolate it was from the colours of the packaging; but instead of the normal name of the bar printed on the packaging, it simply said: #Believe.

As soon as I saw the bars of chocolate, I thought about my own personal beliefs. Yet upon buying the chocolate, I did not actually know what the purpose of the brand’s #Believe was, other than to entice me to buy the chocolate (in which they were undoubtedly successful)!

However, whilst initially toying with its purpose, standing in the middle of the co-op, in the heart of the City of London, I was struck by the power of one word. One word that could conjure so many emotions was just staring me in the face from the packaging of the chocolate. In that one second, I began to reflect on everything that I believe in, what I do not believe in, how I came to believe, and how my belief has grown. It was crazy to me that in the middle of a busy shop, I experienced a serene moment of personal reflection. Every time I picked up the bar for the rest of the day, the words of the creed and memories of moments that I had long since forgotten were replaying in my mind.

  • I saw myself, aged 4 or 5, sitting in a pantomime production of Peter Pan, sitting, clapping and chanting “I believe in fairies,” in order to make Tinkerbell better. But I didn’t really believe in fairies, or that chanting would make them any better.
  • I saw my mother, when I was 9 or 10 telling me that I had to believe in Santa or else he wouldn’t come. And when on Boxing Day I told her I’d found the receipt for the books Santa had brought me lying on the kitchen counter, she told me I had to believe for my brother’s sake. The same story went for the tooth fairy, and for the Easter Bunny.
  • And finally, I saw myself, aged 13 or 14, shaking with fear as I stood at the top of a large wooden pole, preparing to take the ‘leap of faith.’ I am terrified of heights. I told myself I had to believe that I could do it and I would be able to. I jumped, but I didn’t make it. Did I really have the belief I would make the jump? I don’t think so.
  • But above all, I saw my belief in God, spanning my whole life, and helping me to reach the point where I am today.

And staring at the chocolate bar (which was probably melting in my hands by this point…) I saw what I truly believed in, and what I did not. We all have our own beliefs. For everyone, the word ‘Believe’ means something different. But it means something undeniably powerful for everyone. And what we believe in is precious to us. And what we believe in makes us who we are.

So at the end of the day I was left with these questions:

What does it mean to really believe in something?   What do you believe in?  What would you like to believe in?   What stops you from believing?

Maybe I’ll come back to those questions in the future. But I wonder – what does the word ‘Believe’ instinctively mean to you? Feel free to comment down below. Keep #believing!

mars

My Believe Bar

 


PS If you’re wondering, Mars are currently advertising the #Believe campaign for the World Cup. And if you’re wondering- no, I don’t believe that England will win the World Cup despite the powerful advertising 🙂

One thought on “#Believe

Leave a Reply

