Why did I start this?

So here’s the question anyone reading this is probably wondering about. Why on earth are you writing this? Well, there’s no simple answer (but trust me I’m not going to lecture you on all my motives…just a few!) but a combination of factors that has led me to start this. So let me outline some –

  • I have been a Christian for many years now and I have been worshipping at my current church for coming up to 9 years. I feel like God is calling me to do something else, to challenge my vocation and to share it with others. So here we are.
  • Secondly, there has been a lot of media, stories and high profile people which have criticised religion or completely written it off as irrelevant and unneeded. Yet for many people across the world, religion is a key factor in their lives, and is very much present and needed. It is becoming increasingly hard to be proud of your faith in a society that is becoming so anti-religion. I want to show you that Christians and members of all faiths are just ordinary people who are living ordinary lives, but with an extraordinary example to follow and an extraordinary belief that bind them as one. Religion is not to be feared as a way of inciting terrorism, for example. It’s a way of living life in the best way possible; learning in spirit just as much as in body; and being part of an amazing body of people who can support you, uplift you, and share in your joy.
  • Finally, somebody recently told me that “young people” were not needed in the Church. Unfortunately, especially in the Church of England, there has been an ingrained attitude against the integration of “young people” into daily worship, for the fear that they would change things or introduce radical ideas. Yet no one seems to see that we are just Christians with the same faith and the same living purpose as they have. In fact, theoretically, we are the future (has anyone else got “We are the world” stuck in their heads right now?) and kindling faith in our hearts will lead to the next generation of Christians. If we are cast aside, what will be the future of the Church and who will be the next leaders? In today’s society, I believe that teenage Christians are needed more than ever and this is my way of showing to you that we are not to be feared, we are not some alien species! No – we are just like Christians for centuries before us and yes we use technology, but we can use technology to spread the word of God further than ever before.

I don’t really care if you are reading this because you are a Christian, or if you’re not. I don’t care if you believe in a God or whether you think it’s just all a load of rubbish. What I would like you to see is that I am a normal teenage girl. Yes – my religion may make me view situations or experiences differently, but that makes me who I am. Something makes you who you are too. That might not be God for you, but it’s something. Whoever you are, and whatever you believe, I hope you can enjoy sharing a little part of my life, and seeing a small insight into what it’s like to be a teenage Christian girl in Britain.

Now who’s ready for this adventure?

Leave a Reply

